CAPS Board of Directors Election


Board of Directors Candidates

Office Sought Candidate’s Name State Department State Classification 
President Patty Velez CDFW – Monterey Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist)
President Patti Rich-Crawford CDPH – Richmond Research Scientist I (Chemical Science)
Vice President Manjul Bose DTSC – Chatsworth Environmental Scientist
Vice President Jim McCall CDFW – Sacramento Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist)
Secretary Margarita Gordus CDFW – Fresno Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist)
Secretary Shana Rapoport SWRCB – Los Angeles Environmental Scientist
Treasurer Stephanie Lewis DTSC – Chatsworth Environmental Scientist
Treasurer Itzia Rivera CVFPB – Sacramento Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist)
District I Director Brittany Sheahan DTSC – San Diego Environmental Scientist
District I Director Bailey Franklin DTSC – Chatsworth Environmental Scientist
* District II Director Kelley Aubushon CDFW – Fresno Environmental Scientist
District III Director Justin Garcia CDFW – Sacramento Environmental Scientist
District III Director Jason Moore DWR – West Sacramento Environmental Scientist
* District IV Director David Rist DTSC – Berkeley Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist)
* District V Director Rebecca Garwood CDFW – Eureka Environmental Scientist
Director At-Large James Moulton Thomas CDPH – Sacramento Associate Health Physicist
Director At-Large Ruth Darling CVFPB – Sacramento Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist)
Director At-Large Kris Wiese CDFW – San Diego Environmental Scientist
* Supervisor Director Valerie Chenoweth-Brown DTSC – Sacramento Senior Health Physicist

* Uncontested seats are elected by acclamation.

If YOU want to serve your fellow State Scientists, please consider running for one of the positions on the CAPS Board of Directors.  All elected CAPS BOD members are unpaid volunteers, with necessary business expenses reimbursed, and (in the case of officers) a modest stipend provided monthly.  The CAPS BOD typically meets quarterly on Saturdays–three times in Sacramento, one time in another California city.  CAPS Committees meet more frequently, often by conference call.  Most CAPS time requires use of vacation or annual leave, although when meeting with state management on official business state time is provided.

The Filing Deadline is August 21, 2017  

The deadline for filing a nominating petition for election to the 2017-2019 CAPS Board of Directors is Monday, August 21, 2017 at 5 p.m. at the CAPS Sacramento Office.

Petitions must be received by the Sacramento Office no later than 5 p.m. on Monday, August 21, 2017.

The CAPS Board of Directors is subject to election by the membership every two years.  The time required may exceed the quarterly Board of Directors meetings, for example, by serving on committees and doing other activities necessary to represent the employment interests of state scientists. The volunteer nature of the CAPS Board of Directors helps keeps dues low.

Positions subject to election include four officers (President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer), five regional district directors, two at-large directors and one supervisor.  Each candidate must have been a CAPS member for at least one year continuously and must have permanent state civil service status.  Each candidate must submit a nominating petition containing the signatures of at least 10 CAPS members.  Supervisory members may run for only the supervisor’s seat on the board.  Balloting will be conducted by secret ballot via U.S. mail.  There is no filing fee.

Independent Election Administrator

For purposes of continuity, the Elections Committee has once again selected MK Election Services (formerly True Ballot), a specialized independent election service, to administer the election; visit their website for more information: Nominating petitions are due August 21, 2017 at 5 p.m. and candidate statements are due August 31, 2017 at 5 p.m.